Our Events

The New York City Book Awards

The New York Society Library's New York City Book Awards, established in 1995, honor books of literary quality or historical importance that, in the opinion of the selection committee, evoke the spirit or enhance appreciation of New York City. The city must play an essential role beyond that of the setting. A worthy book, whether academic, literary, or popular, must be well written and engaging. It should shed some new or unusual light on New York City. As part of the Book Awards, the Library also presents the Hornblower Award. Established in 2011, this award is given to an excellent New York City-related book by a first-time author.

The 2017-2018 Awards

The 2017-2018 awards were announced in March and celebrated on May 1.

The list of winners

Photos and video from the awards ceremony

Entry guidelines for the 2018-2019 awards will be posted early this summer. For questions in the meantime, contact Katie Fricas at kfricas@nysoclib.org or 212.288.6900 x230.

The New York City Book Awards By Year

20172016 | 2015 | 2014201320122011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 |2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995

List of All New York City Book Awards Winners