For Children

Events at the Children's Library

Children's events are for Library members unless otherwise specified.
Registration is required and space is limited.
Please make sure children meet the proper age requirements. 
To register please call the Children's Library at 212-288-6900 x234 or email children@nysoclib.org.
To receive the Children's Library electronic newsletter and event updates please email children@nysoclib.org.

Newborn-24 Months

Wiggles and Giggles

Tuesday, May 3, 10:00 AM
Tuesday, May 17, 10:00 AM

Join us for songs, stories, and playtime for babies and toddlers.

Ages 2 and older

Mother Goose Magic

Thursday April 28, 10:30 AM
Thursday May 12, 10:30 AM
Friday May 20, 10:30 AM
Thursday May 26, 10:30 AM

Enjoy favorite nursery rhymes, picture books, and songs.

Ages 3 and older

We <3 Books

Thursday, May 5, 4:00 PM

Celebrate stories during Children's Book Week, and make your own book.

Butterfly Tails

Thursday, May 12, 4:00 PM

Learn how the caterpillar turns into a butterfly, and make your own butterfly.

Spring Is in the Air!

Thursday, May 26, 4:00 PM

Welcome spring with stories and a blooming craft.

Special Events

Tween Scene: Catch the Sun!

Tuesday, April 26, 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM| For ages 9 and older
Advance registration required

Calling all tweens!  Make a stained "glass" window to brighten your room.
Members are welcome to register a guest for this event.

Mother's Day Make-and-Take

Saturday, May 7, 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Sunday, May 8, 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
For all ages

Drop by the Children's Library to make a gift for your mom.
Registration is not required for the drop-in activity.

Tween Scene: Color Yourself Crazy

Tuesday, May 24, 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM| For ages 9 and older
Advance registration required

Calling all tweens!  Get your color on and join us for an hour of creative coloring.
Members are welcome to register a guest for this event.