Our Events

The 2015 New York City Book Awards

The Winners

Coney Island: Visions of an American Dreamland, 1861-2008 by Robin Jaffee Frank (The Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art/Yale University Press)

Prince of Darkness: The Untold Story of Jeremiah G. Hamilton, Wall Street's First Black Millionaire by Shane White (St. Martin's Press)

City on a Grid: How New York Became New York by Gerard Koeppel (Da Capo Press)

One Righteous Man: Samuel Battle and the Shattering of the Color Line in New York by Arthur Browne (Beacon Press)

The Hornblower Award for a First Book
Reading Publics: New York City's Public Libraries, 1754-1911 by Tom Glynn (Empire State Editions/Fordham University Press)

Special Citation for Two Iconic New York City Writers
Vivian Gornick
author most recently of The Odd Woman and the City: A Memoir (Farrar, Straus, & Giroux)

Roger Angell
author most recently of This Old Man: All in Pieces (Doubleday)Winners Tom Glynn, Robin Jaffee Frank, and Gerard Koeppel with a cake celebrating the awards' 20th anniversary. Photo by Barnet Schecter.

The 2015-2016 Book Awards Jury

Lucienne Bloch, chair; James Atlas, Barbara Cohen, Andrew Scott Dolkart, Ellen Feldman, Ella Foshay, Bobbie Leigh, Jean Parker Phifer, Peter Salwen, Barnet Schecter, Warren Wechsler, Meg Wolitzer.

The awards presentation took place May 3, 2016.

Trustee and presenter Ellen M. Iseman; Warren Wechsler and Lucienne S. Bloch; presenter Barnet Schecter with winner Tom Glynn. Photos by Karen Smul.

Jean Parker Phifer presents the award for ONE RIGHTEOUS MAN; presenter Ella Foshay with winner Robin Jaffee Frank; Warren Wechsler and winner Gerard Koeppel. Photos by Karen Smul.

Special Citation recipients Roger Angell (left) and Vivian Gornick (right) with presenter James Atlas. Photos by Karen Smul.

Listen to the Audio Recording

The 2015-2016 New York City Book Awards were generously underwritten by Ellen M. Iseman.