Our Events

The New York City Book Awards 2016-2017

The New York City Book Awards were founded in 1995-96 to honor books of literary quality or historical importance that evoke the spirit or enhance appreciation of New York City. Click here for more general information about the awards.

The Library is proud to announce the 2016-17 honorees.

2016 NYC Book Awards Winners' Covers 

Tyler Anbinder

City of Dreams: The 400-Year Epic History of Immigrant New York

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

David Oshinsky

Bellevue: Three Centuries of Medicine & Mayhem at America's Most Storied Hospital


Roxane Orgill and Francis Vallejo

Jazz Day: The Making of a Famous Photograph

Candlewick Press

Winners of the 2016-17 New York City Book Awards

The Hornblower Award for a First Book

Corey Pegues

Once a Cop: The Street, The Law, Two Worlds, One Man

Atria Books

For information about the May 3 awards ceremony, please click here.

The 2016-2017 New York City Book Awards are generously underwritten by Ellen M. Iseman.