Our Events

The 2022-2023 New York City Book Awards

The New York Society Library is proud to announce the winners of the 2022-2023 New York City Book Awards. Founded in 1995-1996, these awards honor the best books about New York City published in a given year, regardless of genre. 

The Library honors the winning authors at a reception on May 10, 2023 - full details here.

The 2022 winners are

Xochitl Gonzalez
Olga Dies Dreaming: A Novel

Flatiron Books

Shanté Paradigm Smalls
Hip Hop Heresies: Queer Aesthetics in New York City

NYU Press

Jarrod Shanahan
Captives: How Rikers Island Took New York City Hostage


John Wood Sweet
The Sewing Girl's Tale: A Story of Crime and Consequences in Revolutionary America

Henry Holt and Co.

Sidik Fofana
Stories from the Tenants Downstairs


A downloadable press release can be found here.

More general information and a complete list of winners from the awards’ past 26 years can be found here.

The 2022-2023 New York City Book Awards are generously underwritten by Ellen M. Iseman. The 2022-2023 Hornblower Award is generously underwritten by Jenny Lawrence.