Our Events


The New York City Book Awards Ceremony 2017-2018

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 6:00 PM | For members and guests | Members' Room | reception at 6:00 PM, presentation at 6:30 PM | free of charge | advance registration required

The New York City Book Awards, founded in 1996, honor each year’s best books about the city. This annual ceremony honors the winning authors and publishers. Click here for this year's list of honorees.

Order of ceremony: 

Carolyn Waters, Head Librarian

Opening Remarks
Ellen M. Iseman, Trustee
Warren Wechsler, Awards Jury Chair

Presentation of Awards
Greater Gotham: A History of New York City from 1898 to 1919"
Karl E. Meyer, presenter; Mike Wallace, winner

Going Into Town: A Love Letter to New York
Warren Wechsler, presenter; Roz Chast, winner

Golden Hill: A Novel of Old New York
Janice P. Nimura, presenter; Hailey Rutledge, accepting for Francis Spufford

New York Art Deco: The Architecture of Jazz Age New York
Peter Salwen, presenter; Anthony W. Robins, winner

Manhattan Beach: A Novel
Stephen Raphael, presenter; Hailey Rutledge, accepting for Jennifer Egan

The Leavers: A Novel
Bianca Calabresi, presenter; Lisa Ko, winner

Closing Remarks and a Toast to the Winners
Carolyn Waters, Head Librarian
Warren Wechsler, Awards Jury Chair

At left: The 2017 winning books.

The 2017-2018 New York City Book Awards are generously underwritten by Ellen M. Iseman.